National Zoological Gardens

National Zoological Gardens

The National Zoological Gardens of South Africa (also informally known as The Pretoria Zoo) is an 85-hectare (210-acre) zoo located in Pretoria, South Africa. It is the national zoo of South Africa, and was founded by J. W. B. Gunning in 1899. Pretoria Zoo is one of the eight largest zoos in the world.
The animal collections of the NZG are the direct responsibility of the Animal Collection and Conservation Department. The department operates over two facilities. The main facility located in Tshwane, is an 84 hectare ex situ based facility, which is home to approximately 5 000 different mammals, birds, fish, reptiles, amphibians and invertebrates, comprising of around 600 species and subspecies. One of its unique features is that it has the largest inland aquarium in Africa, which also has a marine fish component. It is also the only zoo in South Africa that is home to Koalas, Okapi, Komodo Dragons and Forest buffalo, to name but a few.
Pretoria. South Africa

National Zoological Gardens Target Species

Visit the National Zoological Gardens Site

Click here to visit the official website

Click Here

You are donating to : Conservation Centers for Species Survival

How much would you like to donate?
$25 $50 $100
Would you like to make regular donations? I would like to make donation(s)
How many times would you like this to recur? (including this payment) *
Name *
Last Name *
Email *
Additional Note